Gig Rig Update  Bose L1 Compact & ToneMatch

     So for the last two years I’ve had some serious asthma problems.  Now under control. However I’ve started to play a lot of solo gigs private party’s , weddings, cocktail hour… and I’m loving it.  I wanted to have somthing smaller than my former band rigs, speakers, monitors, power amps, snakes, racks of gear, mixer etc.  So a few months ago my wife took a risk and purchased the Bose L1 Compact, I thought it was a joke.  I could not have been more wrong.  It sounds great I’ve done 10+ gigs with it and have only had complements on how good it sounds.   I really like when I’m driving home and I’m no sore or exhausted from setting up or tearing town. 

   So this setup sounds amazing, sets up in less than 2 min and is so easy on the back. I use the preset for the LR Baggs Element pickup.  I’m using the LR Baggs Dule Source preamp which is the Element and Mic.  I rool off to about 1K or around there for the mic and below that the pickup dose the work.  In the Tone Match I have it set pretty much flat and if I do get low end feedback I have the Para EQ set at Level -2-6db, Freq A# 117Hz, With 1.00oct.  And then a bit of the Large reverb. Time 2.20 Bal 50% Mix 30% Bright 50% and then a TR cable from Tone Match to Compact on Flat TR input (not mic chanel). Turn in on and I’m good to go.  With the ToneMatch mixer you have 4 mic inputs 3 on Tone Match w phantom power and 1 on Bose Compact no phantom power just high and bass Eq.  And on compact you have a 1/8 TRS for iPod and play back so in essence you have 6 channels.  

  

  

  

  

Leave a Reply

